The Design Colloquium for Design-First Firms is a unique forum where leaders of exceptional firms in architecture, engineering, and related design disciplines gather in an intimate, candid setting to exchange ideas and experiences with their peers. We coined the term Design-First to refer to practices that have maintained a consistently high level of design quality, while not dependent on a black-cape superstar.

The program is hosted by Cameron MacAllister Group. Panelists and speakers come largely from participating design firm leaders. The event is also approved by AIA/CES for learning units.

Because the Colloquium is curated and attendance is limited by invitation only, the exchange of ideas and experiences among like-minded professionals has been candid, open and frank. Since its establishment in 2005, the event has developed a loyal following. Principals have continued a dialog with their peers that began at the Colloquium—well beyond the event itself—resulting in various forms of collaboration, from informal advice to structured Joint Ventures.


We would like to thank our industry partners for their support of the 2023 Spring Design Colloquium.

Fox Rothschild logo

Advisory Board

2023 Design Colloquium

Amy Donohue, AIA
Principal, Bora

Melissa Higgs, Architect AIBC, FRAIC
Principal, HCMA

Sarah Lindenfeld, AIA 
Managing Partner, Payette

Brandon Specketer, AIA
Partner, COOKFOX

Paul Schwer, PE
President, PAE

Past Attendees

Following is a listing of firms that have attended and participated in the Colloquium since 2007.

Andrea Cochran Landscape
Atelier Ten
Ayers Saint Gross
BAR Architects
Behnisch Architects
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
CO Architects
COOKFOX Architects
Cooper, Robertson & Partners
David Baker & Partners
Davis Brody Bond
EHDD Architects
ennead Architects
Ehrenkrantz Eckstut & Kuhn
Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects
Fentress Architects
Frederick Fisher and Partners
Forell/Elsesser Engineers
Goettsch Partners
Hacker Architects

Handel Architects
HCMA Architecture+Design
Herbert Lewis Kruse Blunck
Holmes Structures
Integral Group
Johnson Fain
KPMB Architects
Lake|Flato Architects
Leddy Maytum Stacy
LMN Architects
Magnusson Klemencic
Miller Hull Partnership
Moore Ruble Yudell
Olson Kundig Architects
Opsis Architecture
PAE Consulting Engineers
Pickard Chilton
Pugh + Scarpa

Rutherford + Chekene
Shepley Bulfinch
Sherwood Design Engineers
SHoP Architects
Snow Kreilich Architects
Solomon Cordwell Buenz
SRG Partnership
Studio Ma
Studios Architecture
Substance Architecture
SWA Group
The Office of James Burnett
Tipping Structural Engineers
Transsolar | KlimaEngineering
TVS Design
Urban Green
Valerio Dewalt Train
VOA Associates
Walker Macy
William McDonough + Partners
WRNS Studio
ZGF Architects